Narrator – A man without a future


Note: this post is a study on trust and betrayal; the people and situations in this post are fictitious.

Upon finishing my part in the activities of Raven in East Berlin, within a year I met him a number of times in different places in Europe. Raven was handing over his post to his successor – a distant cousin, who investigated the history of this British secret service as preparation for his new task. His cousin would like to meet Fox, and I was requested to act as a person in the middle with my striking appearance.

The life of Fox was substantially changed since I met him the last time in the headquarters of the East German secret service just after the fall of the Berlin wall. At that time he acted as management of the service with two other heads of unit since the political leader of this service resigned two days before the fall of the wall. The day after the people of Berlin invaded the main building in January 1990, Fox had submitted his resignation. This resignation was refused whereafter Fox remained on his post until East Germany officially ceased to exist on 3 October 1990 [1].

After the summer holidays in 1990, I met Raven in Amsterdam. He looked grey and sad. After the initial greetings he told the sad news. In January 1990 the wife and daughter of Fox moved to Augsburg in Bavaria in West Germany with help of the inheritance from Bear – the father of the woman of Fox – in order to start a new life. The family of Bear helped herewith. By fate, in the summer of 1990, the wife and daughter of Fox died in a serious road accident near Munich. Raven showed me pictures of a happy reunion with their family in Bavaria. Again I noticed that the daughter of Fox looked exactly like Raven.

Autoongeluk[2]

In the autumn of 1990 Raven sent me a letter from London with the request to leave Pension Arensberg at the Stubenring in Vienna at a certain time on a Saturday afternoon in October 1990 in order to arrange an opportunity for a meeting between Fox and the nephew of Raven. At the specified time I left the Pension and I walked in the direction of the Danube. Soon I recognized Fox who walked across the street along the Austrian Ministry. At the next traffic lights he crossed the road. I walked around the block via the Wiesingerstraβe and the Biberstraβe to the Österreichische Postsparkasse [3] – designed by Otto Wagner – at the Georg Coch-Platz.

Postsparkasse[4]

I admired the façade of this building from 1906 and I saw from the corner of my eyes that I was followed by Fox and another man. I turned around and I walked quietly toward the Eagle on the façade of the former War Ministry of Austria.

Ministerie van oorlog[5]

At the Stubenring I admired the façade of the Postsparkasse again and I saw that the two men still followed me. Thereafter I walked in the direction of the Museum for Art and Industry. At the entrance to Café Prückel, hesitated for a moment so that I could overlook the square. Everything seemed normal: so I went inside and I took a table at the window. The other man followed me and he introduced himself as the cousin of Raven. He asked if there was a seat for him at my table. After 10 minutes Fox entered and he greeted me with amazement on his face. I invited him to join us.

koffiehuis wenen[6]

Fox and the Raven’s cousin started their meeting. The cousin had many questions about the Second World War in which a number of family members and friends of Raven were arrested by the Germans in Netherlands and Belgium at the end of 1943 and in the spring of 1944; many of them did not survive the war. During the meeting, I got the impression that they – unknowingly – were handed over to the Germans on purpose, so that they would provide misleading information during their interrogations. The nephew of Raven wanted to know how Raven had been involved. During the interview Fox – at that time a young German communist – took all responsibility for the sacrifice of the many relatives of Raven in order to let the Germans believe that the invasion would take place at the end of the spring 1944 between at Calais and Ostend. Fox explained how he had passed the information about the droppings of the English secret agents to Bear. Raven’s successor was not completely convinced and would like to get more information about this period. After the meeting I knew almost certain that the real events at that time involved many stark dark pages about Raven.

Fox did not want to give information about his role during the Cold War: he said that everything about that period could be found in the archives of the East German secret service. I saw that he was worried about subpoenas for lawsuits about his role in this secret service; at that time no European country would give him a refugee status. A few years later he was sentenced to prison for his activities during the cold war; on appeal this sentence was overruled.

After an hour the nephew of Raven took farewell upon arranging a follow-up meeting with Fox. Hereinafter I gave my condolence to Fox with the loss of his wife and daughter. During settling the bill Fox asked me to join him to walk to Stephansdom. During this walk he told the background of the origin of his marriage with the daughter of Bear.

Before and during the war his wife was secretly in love with Raven. After the war Fox came to know that he had been the unreachable platonic love of Raven since their study time before the war in Munich. One night just after the war – before Raven would move again to London – Raven told to the daughter of Bear that he could never love her, because he loved men. A few weeks after this night, it turned out the daughter of Bear was in expectation of their daughter. Fox knew since his boyhood that he could not have children due to a small physical defect. After the departure of Raven, Fox  married his wife within a month. As resolute German woman his wife did not wish to have any connection at all with Rave after her choice for Fox: they never met each other again. Every now and then Fox gave Raven a few pictures of his family.

Upon entering the Rotenturmstraβe, Fox told that after the fall of the wall, his wife and daughter had bought a house in Augsburg where he, too, might live when his role in the East German secret service was finished; this hope was vanished. In front of Stephansdom we took farewell. Fox walked slowly away. I looked if he might be followed. When he passed the corner to the Goldschmiedgasse I looked at the entrance of the Dom as a sign that everything was fine.

Stephansdom[7]

This was the last time I saw Fox.


[1] See also: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/East_Germany

[2] This picture is taken in Schleswig-Holstein in Germany according to the vehicle registration plate of the fire truck. Source image: http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stra%C3%9Fenverkehrsunfall

[3] See also: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%96sterreichische_Postsparkasse

[4] Source image: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%96sterreichische_Postsparkasse

[5] Source image: http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kriegsministerium_(Wien)

[6] This photo is of a later date. Source image: http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caf%C3%A9_Pr%C3%BCckel

[7] Source image: http://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephansdom_(Wenen)

Leave a Reply

