Man Leben – simplicity


Nun weiß man, leben ist einfach

Now one knows, life is easy

Next  to this Odyssey, I have known three big surprises in the last part of my life. The first surprise is working in a design office to introduce a modular industrial way of building.

The second surprise is an unexpected love with my female companion for two years. Turning my head, we came in each other’s lives, bottomless deep. Then we went along, familiar. In the beginning of my study Sanskrit I encountered the “dual” – or dualis [1] in Latin – within the conjugations. First I thought it is a remnant of an ancient manner of counting: one, two and many. After I had translated several times the dual wrongly as plural – especially in body parts of people –, it became obvious that the dual may express a coherence of two parts. The two years with my female companion were also dual – showing at once as a singular and a unity. In line with the old zen master from the previous message: “If there would be no sentient people, then there would be no hand without another hand, no eye without another eye to see, no leg without another leg to walk, nor an ear without another ear to hear. Everything would be empty and deep, deep. There would be no loss and no gain.[2]  Until this unexpected love, I have seen the duplicate as a separation in my life. Now I see it also as a unity and a simplicity. One eye shapes the other eye, one leg shapes the other leg, one hand shapes the other hand, man and woman shape each other in unity and simplicity – not in singular and not in plural. Her big death left me unexpectedly empty as the moon [3].

I once read, that people wish to leave our lives with birth, constant change and death [4]; they want to exist in an everlasting heaven or in a state of constant bliss [5]. The fate of people states that we may sit between changing fires and ashes. I have grieved over the loss of my beloved companion.

The third surprise is the simplicity and solitude within interconnectedness, which is followed after Her big death. This death is not only a rupture or a fracture. It is also a continuum of change; we are returned in the flow of changing fires and ashes.

[6]

And the ashes rise in the tree trunks to the beginning of buttons [7]:

Buds on these trees.

If the blossom burst open

then I know no doubt

[8]

With the third surprise of simplicity and solitude, I started our Odyssey and I continue her”, you say.

“At the stages one, two and three on our Odyssey, I got to know you. Your life is richer than I have ever imagined. May I ask you a few questions before I introduce myself with a brief description of my life?”, I ask.

“That is good”, you say.

The following post will start with the questions about your life.


[1] See also: http://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dualis en http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual_(grammatical_number)

[2] Free and adapted rendering of: Wick, Gerry Shishin, The Book of Equanimity – Illuminating Classic Zen Koans. Somerville MA: Wisdom Publications, 2005 p. 170

[3] The words “widower” and “widow” are derived from the Indo – European word “widhewo” or in Sanskrit “vidhu”. Source: Ayto, John. Word Origins – the hidden Histories of English Words from A to Z. London: A & C Black, 2005  p. 547. In Sanskrit the word “vidhu” means: “alleen, solitaire en maan”.

[4] E.g.: the Aria: “Ich freue mich auf meinen Tod” in Cantate 82 by Johann Sebastian Bach.

[5] See also the sentences on zen master Tozan in: Wick, Gerry Shishin, The Book of Equanimity – Illuminating Classic Zen Koans. Somerville MA: Wisdom Publications, 2005 p. 176

[6] Source image: http://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vuur

[7] See also the post: “One – Blossom” from 2nd April 2011.

[8] Source image: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Double-flowered_Cherry_Blossoms.jpg

Leave a Reply

